Founded in 1974 under the title, International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, today's International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz) continues to grow in scope and stature. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). After 2008, the conference name was shortened to the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX.

On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award. The current membership of the IOC can be found here and general information on the conference series - including applications to host the conference, Society By-Laws, nomination procedures for Society prizes and more can be found at the society web page: www.irmmw-thz.org.


Cancun 2017

Since 2000, the IRMMW-THz conference series has alternated between Asia, Europe and America on a continuous three year cycle. At this, our 42 conference, we will be meeting at the Cancun International Convention Center, between the 27 of August and 1 of Semtember 2017. The conference is organized by a Local Organizing Committee under the auspices of the IOC, and with technical co-sponsorship from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). The location affords easy access to the many exciting sights and experiences of the Cancun and the Mayan Riviera.

We look forward to seeing you in Cancun! Make sure to plan your return flight on Saturday 2 of September so you can participate in our Friday afternoon excursions.

Host Organization

This conference is hosted by the Centro de Investigaciones en Optica (CIO) and the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, with substantial support from colleagues in Mexico and the USA. The Local Organizing Committee wishes to acknowledge the generous help of the CIO, The Consejo Naconal de Ciencia y Tecnologia (CONACyT), the Universidad Autonoma de San Luis Potosi (UASLP) and the Laboratorio Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnologia de Terahertz (LaNCyTT).